What’s a Regular Cycling Day Look Like

Cycling this Sea to Sea tour has reduced life to some very basic needs. Wake up, pack up tent and personal goods, eat, make a lunch, cycle, set up tent, eat, sleep and do it all again the next day.

In the middle of keeping life simple and focussed, there are amazing things to observe. Each morning, before it is even light there is a buzz of activity. Breakfast is laid out by 6:00 am with cyclists busy doing what they need to do to get on the road. 

If one were to step back and observe the area at about 6:30 one would see what most closely resembles and ant hill. People are purposefully moving all over the grounds. Between the gear trailer, the tenting area, the shower area, the kitchen area it looks like a frantic, chaotic scene. No one is giving orders, no one seems To be in charge, yet in short order the grounds are cleared, the trucks are loaded and all the cyclists have miraculously disappeared.

They’ve all mysteriously disappeared only to surface at some other location some 100 or 120 km away.

What at first glance might appear chaotic is all very purposeful and orderly. It is clear that each person knows what needs to be done and has a role.

It is very apparent that there is some quality leadership and planning with this tour. Good leadership is evident in the results.

Author: Jasper Hoogendam

After 36 years as an educator my career ended due to a TBI. Renewable energy as part of 'walking lightly on this earth' has been and continues to be my interest since my teen years. Since early 2015 I have been learning to live with ABI (Acquire Brain Injury). I don't want to let my ABI limit the goals I set for myself. I'm living with a different brain, not a lesser brain. In sharing my day to day successes and struggles, I am better able to understand how my life had changed and begin to accept the change. In sharing my experiences I'm hearing from caregivers and fellow ABI's. I'm encouraged when my experiences are helping others understand some of the complexity of living with ABI.

5 thoughts on “What’s a Regular Cycling Day Look Like”

Leave a Reply

