Getting Into the Groove

Last night at peleton meeting we said goodbye to about 2 dozen riders. Each had an opportunity to share a few thoughts about their riding experience. Many of the riders had been on the tour for 1 week. (One of the 1 week riders had introduced himself last Sunday as a weekling.) Others had ridden longer. As each rider shared their comments I was just glad that my ride would continue for another week yet. (Don’t be totally shocked if I can’t pull myself away from this ride and go on to New York – just kidding.)

Today I felt like I was getting into the groove. The bicycle riding has been going very well. The unicycling has definitely added some challenge both mechanical and physical. 

The mechanical challenges have been generously taken care of. The physical challenges have a fw components to it.

The official day one was great. I managed to complete 28 km which turns out is about a quarter of the route that day.

The second thing I check each day is to see which part of the day’s route looks best for unicycling. Sometimes the elevation maps get it right sometimes very different than what I expected.

The next thing that needs to be coordinated is checking with the SAG people to get the uni delivered to the right place and then how to get my bicycle back so I can finish up the route for the day.

Once the uni was repaired I started to work seriously on not only the 10 percent of the ride by uni but also the second challenge. 

I rode into London having completed 7 km. That was okay since I had bank some extra on the Monday. I rode into Breslau having completed 15 km. The rural country roads north of Ingersil and Woodstock worked very well. I rode into Redeemer (Ancaster) having completed 22 km. This was done leading up to and along Jerseyville road, with its rolling hills, onto Shaver Road, through a round-about and onto Garner Road, ending at the rear dorms at Redeemer University College.

That completed about one third of today’s ride on a uni.

This was greatly helped by two riders, Henry and Joyce Dejager from California. They helped me at the tip of about six hills when I needed a shoulder to lean on to remount the uni. They also rode ahead to give me the ‘all clear’ at crossings, not to mention creating greater visibility as we made our way along Garner Road.

The gradual increase in the number of kilometers each day will help me complete the 10 percent pledge sooner.

However, I need to work my conditioning to a point so I can complete Bill’s challenge of unicycling 50 km (30 miles to put it into American language) in one day. My guess it will be the day we ride from Kingston to Brockville.

Between good meals, lots of water, sunscreen for my nose, traumeel for my knees and prayers for safety and strength I should arrive in Montreal a week from now.

Author: Jasper Hoogendam

I have been working in the field of elementary education since 1980 till my career ended due to a TBI. Renewable energy as part of 'walking lightly on this earth' has been and continues to be my interest since my teen years. Since early 2015 I have been learning to live with ABI (Acquire Brain Injury). In sharing my day to day successes and struggles, I am better able to understand how my life had changed and begin to accept the change. In sharing my experiences I'm hearing from caregivers and fellow ABI's. I'm encouraged when my experiences are helping others understand some of the complexity of living with ABI.

2 thoughts on “Getting Into the Groove”

    1. It’s the railroad kind of groove you want to avoid getting into.We lost a rider to that just before we crossed into CANADA. Paul was unsuccessful when crossing a railroad crossing that ran diagonally with wood that was still wet from the thunderstorm a hour earlier.

      Like

Leave a Reply

