A Sabbath Rest

After a week of biking this was a welcome day of rest. After breakfast I cycled down to the General hospital where my mother had been admitted on Monday. Thankfully she seems to be doing well with the tests coming back with encouraging results. She hopes to learn more from her doctor on Monday. My father has been making the 45 minute ride each day, getting there by noon and visiting till 6:00.

It was an exhilerating ride into the downtown coming down the escarpment, or ‘the mountain’ as the locals call it. The ride back of course presented a challenging climb. I took the advice of a street person with an old bike and made my way up West 5th St. Having to drop into a very low gear I wondered if the person advising me had actually ridden p that hill. Arriving back at Redeemer I was surprisedto see I had cycled 35km. So much for a day of rest.

I got Back in time for the celebration service. As the cyclists entered en mass into thr Redeemer auditorium  we were welcome by a packed house. The energy and enthusiasm of the crowds singing and worshipping together was truly encouraging and supportive.

The keynote speaker shared his story 20 years of working with the poor in downtown Hamilton. He shared how poverty has a face and helping begins by building a relationship and begining to love the people you help and get to know their story.

It was great to see my two brothers, Rick and George with his wife Yolanda. It was also heart warming to receive words of encouragement from colleagues and other friends.

Looking forward to this second week. We will leave early Monday morning and conquer Toronto with the goal of arriving at the Ajax Community Centre by mid afternoon. Just got to keep the lake on our right, we were advised, if we hope to find Ajax.

Author: Jasper Hoogendam

I have been working in the field of elementary education since 1980 till my career ended due to a TBI. Renewable energy as part of 'walking lightly on this earth' has been and continues to be my interest since my teen years. Since early 2015 I have been learning to live with ABI (Acquire Brain Injury). In sharing my day to day successes and struggles, I am better able to understand how my life had changed and begin to accept the change. In sharing my experiences I'm hearing from caregivers and fellow ABI's. I'm encouraged when my experiences are helping others understand some of the complexity of living with ABI.

Leave a Reply

