This is Not a Race

20170719_172453.jpg
A 44 seat bike – Russell,  Manitoba

This is a cycling tour.

No time trials to qualify

No carbon fibre needed

This is not a race.

 

This is a cycling tour.

Prudent to train ahead of time

No risk of being disqualified

This is not a race.

 

This is a cycling tour.

Giving fellow rider support

With flats or worse

This is not a race.

 

This is a cycling tour.

Time for a photo op

Pausing for a leisurely break

This is not a race.

 

This is a cycling tour.

Compassion for the poor

With tangible results

This is not a race.

 

This is a cycling tour.

The fastest cyclists

take bragging rights

The strongest cyclists

get the best SAG treats

The fittest cyclists

get the best campsites.

The strongest cyclists

whiz by the others

Those with the ultra-light bikes

Oh wait, who said, “This is not a race?”

 

Author: Jasper Hoogendam

After 36 years as an educator my career ended due to a TBI. Renewable energy as part of 'walking lightly on this earth' has been and continues to be my interest since my teen years. Since early 2015 I have been learning to live with ABI (Acquire Brain Injury). I don't want to let my ABI limit the goals I set for myself. I'm living with a different brain, not a lesser brain. In sharing my day to day successes and struggles, I am better able to understand how my life had changed and begin to accept the change. In sharing my experiences I'm hearing from caregivers and fellow ABI's. I'm encouraged when my experiences are helping others understand some of the complexity of living with ABI.

4 thoughts on “This is Not a Race”

Leave a Reply

