Vestibular Ocular Dysfunction

 

20191102_152556
Exploring Autumn

The four hundred kilometer trips to visit my youngest grandchild are an ongoing challenge. It is a challenge that I have not been willing to forego. When I make the trip I am not surprised if it takes me a day or more to recover from the drive. It’s just how things go.

Its not far enough to fly. Taking the train is not an option because of poor connections. So I need to find a way to make it work by car.

I’ve experimented with  different strategies that have changed things up a bit but without reliable improvement. I’ve spread the trip over two days, but that does have it’s drawbacks. I’ve biked the last 40 or 50 kilometers which seems to shorten my recovery time. I’ve experimented with different pit stops. With some pit stops I’ve taken a lengthy walk, while with other pit stops I’ve slept up to 45 minutes. I’ve alternated between being a passenger and the driver. With each of these strategies it’s difficulty to know how much or how little of a difference they make.

It’s difficult to know how effective a strategy is because every situation is dynamic. Each time I make the trip there are related factors that need to be weighed. A significant factor is how well rested I am before starting the trip. The level of neural fatigue before starting the trip varies depending on what I have been dealing with in the previous day or two.

Vestibular Ocular dysfunction

The difficulty is that driving causes neural fatigue as a result of the vestibular ocular challenges. It’s not motion sickness. Rather it’s the movement of objects that momentarily appear in my range of vision and then move quickly into my peripheral vision before disappearing completely. Over time the rapidly changing scenes become neurologically too taxing. The faster I’m driving the greater the effect. I’ve joked about riding blindfolded when I’m a passenger in a car.

As an aside. While I’m biking my speed is so much slower that my brain does not experience the same level of fatigue. At a certain point the brain can no longer keep up with processing all the visual input.

An Exception

I remember making this same trip a few years back. I was alone and so I drove the whole way with only a couple of brief stops. When I had shared that experience with my OT, she reminded me that just because it worked once doesn’t mean I can expect it to work the next time. In hindsight, there was one significant difference when I made that trip… it was a night time drive. With night time driving the visual input is very much reduced with minimal peripheral vision stimulation.

Most recent trip

Before I started my most recent trip I was expecting some real challenges. I had not been sleeping well lately. I had been dealing with some situations that contributed more than usual to neural fatigue. I did not want to use that as an excuse to not visit my grandchild.

Believe it or not, this most recent trip went exceptionally well. I drove all the way. I made three pit stops of 30 to 45 minutes. I arrived at my destination feeling great. No need for a nap or a vigorous physical activity.

What was different

I think the biggest factor is that the whole trip was done in the rain. ((In the past, pre-ABI I always found it more difficult to drive in the rain. Visibility is an issue.) This is partly a guess, but I would call it an educated guess. My extra hint comes from the trip I made driving at night time.

Factor 1: Less image processing. Driving in the rain changes the vestibular ocular affect. Objects in my range of vision were not as distinct and did not come into clear focus. Everything in my range of vision is tinted towards grey. Objects in my peripheral vision were much less noticeable than on a clear and sunny day. It was very much like driving with blinders on.

It reminds me of the horse drawn milk carts that were driven through our village when I was a preschooler. They were outfitted with blinders so they wouldn’t be distracted by extra movement to their left or right.

Factor #2: Slower image change. Driving in the rain meant traffic moved slower than usual. This reduced the vestibular effect. Driving through a major metropolitan area was extra slow. Using cruise control with the pre-collision feature meant I didn’t have to deal with the stress of hitting a car from behind if it should suddenly stop. (I was okay with using the cruise control in the rain because the car also has traction control.)

On this recent trip my pit stops were shorter than usual because I didn’t feel like I needed as much time. When the first part of the trip went better than usual, I decided to make this trip an experiment. I wanted to see the effect, given the rainy condition how I would fare if I drove the whole distance myself. Had I found myself getting drowsy or having difficulty focusing I would have switched from driving to being a passenger.

Factor #3: Smooth roads. Some roads have concrete surfaces with expansion joints at regular intervals. Once the road has settled a bit, the rhythmic ‘thump’ as the tires hit the expansion joints becomes too much to handle. In the same way, a rough road with many potholes is also problematic.

Conclusion

I know that this trip went very well. What I outlined and the reasons for it going well is still somewhat guess work. If I’m correct about the effect the rain has on  my vestibular ocular challenge, that doesn’t get me out of the woods so to speak. I can’t expect to do this trip in the rain every time. In fact, the next time I do this trip it will be winter and the reduced visibility will likely be caused by snow. That will increase the challenge by creating new stresses.

So maybe I should buy some blinders. (Anyone have a horse that doesn’t need them any more?) Maybe it’s worthwhile to do part of the trip blindfolded. In truth, I don’t find either idea appealing.

A consideration

Instead of waiting for rainy weather, I do wonder whether wearing tinted glasses might make a difference. People with Scotopic sensitivity syndrome* (more commonly known as Irlen Syndrome) benefit from wearing tinted glasses. Testing is done to determine which colour is most helpful.

If tinted glasses has such a profound effect on people with Erlin Syndrome it might help with vestibular ocular challenges. Both conditions are related to processing what the eye perceives.

A  more practical consideration

While I’m not sure about using tinted glasses, I have seriously considered wearing sunglasses. My one question is whether wearing sunglasses when it is overcast is compromising my safety. Do sunglasses reduce visibility too much , and therefore compromise safety, when it’s not sunny out?

* Note:

Scotopic sensitivity syndrome

According to Irlen, these difficulties lead to reading problems, eye-strain, headaches, migraines, and other physical difficulties that can be alleviated by the use of person specific tinted lenses, known as Irlen Spectral Filters, worn as glasses or contact lenses.     https://en.wikipedia.org › wiki › Irlen_filters

 

Author: Jasper Hoogendam

After 36 years as an educator my career ended due to a TBI. Renewable energy as part of 'walking lightly on this earth' has been and continues to be my interest since my teen years. Since early 2015 I have been learning to live with ABI (Acquire Brain Injury). I don't want to let my ABI limit the goals I set for myself. I'm living with a different brain, not a lesser brain. In sharing my day to day successes and struggles, I am better able to understand how my life had changed and begin to accept the change. In sharing my experiences I'm hearing from caregivers and fellow ABI's. I'm encouraged when my experiences are helping others understand some of the complexity of living with ABI.

17 thoughts on “Vestibular Ocular Dysfunction”

  1. I have this problem too when I’m in a car. I’m usually the passenger so I can get away with wearing sunglasses all the time. Sometimes though the flashing of objects or road markings in my peripheral is so disturbing and if I came shut my eyes I find that wearing over glasses really help. They are not expensive. They do look a little strange on me but I am past caring! I have tried grey lenses and brown and find the brown work better because they dull colours. Over glasses have a little side lenses that protect peripheral vision. They fit well over my prescription glasses.
    I hope that helps.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the suggestion. I will check it out. Three stores locally indicate they carry what are called over glasses sun glassess. I’ll see what colour choices they carry. Brown makes sense because they subdue the colour intensity.
      If your suggestion doesn’t pan out, I’ll check with a former colleague who tests students for Ehrlin Syndrome.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This post filled in a little more of your condition. Fascinating. So many things I take for granted.
    One area I’ve wondered about is the use of screens and their effect on your sensory load. Maybe you’ve already written a post on this and I missed it. What about TV, movies, computers, phones, etc.? Just wondering.

    Like

    1. Each brain injury is unique. Each person’s injury is a unique combination of different parts of the brain with different degrees of damage or disruption to normal functionality.
      In my case screen time doesn’t affect my sensory loading at a noticeable level.
      However, when it comes to sleep hygiene screen time does affect me. I have my cell phone set to a night tome display so the blue light level is eliminated. The blue light wave reduces the level of serotonin the chemical the helps induce sleep.
      When my screen time has something that is cognitively stimulating it will affect my sleep.
      I was checking out You Tube for designs for building a Trommel to separate the coarse compost particles from the fine particles ready for putting on the garden.

      Like

      1. After checking out a few You Tube designs I found my creative juices well primed. Doing this shortly before heading to bed, it kept my brain too active all night. Noticed it on my sleep and had a lack of energy the first half of the next day.

        Like

  3. I’m surprised you can drive at all considering the difficulties you encounter. My experience was bad enough that I completely stopped driving. Even on a slow, quiet country road, the changing shadows of the leaves on the windshield were so distracting I couldn’t keep my focus on the road. And I also couldn’t divide my attention. -something so important while driving. If I glanced at the side view mirror I lost whatever was in front of the car, looking forward meant I didn’t notice the rear-view mirror, etc. I realized I was a danger on the road. Luckily am a city dweller so do fine without driving.
    I’m curious what you mean by visual-vestibular. do you get verigo? dizziness? or do you just mean a visual issue with movement and sensitivity to visual distractions made worse by the movement?
    very interesting piece. thank you for so much detail

    Like

    1. In the first couple weeks following my injury I lost track a couple of times whether it was okay to switch lanes. Couldn’t remember whether the lane was clear or not. Or I would come to an intersection, look right. Then look left. Then couldn’t remember whether traffic from the right was clear. That was my cue to stop driving.
      Once my memory improved enough I was able to drive again.
      The vestibular ocular issue has a gradual, subtle effect on me. It doesn’t distract me when driving. It’s the movement of images passing from my forward vision gradually moving into my peripheral that would gradually create neural fatigue. At times I will need a break after driving for an hour. It’s not unusual for me to sleep for an hour before being able to move on. I stop at a furniture store and try out one of their sofas. I’m surprised they have never taken me for a vagabond and asked me to move on.
      Five years out from my injury and I find most of my setback come from a gradual accumulation of sensory input. Makes it hard to identify the cause of sensory overload at times. But it allows me to carry out most pre-injury activities albeit for a much shorter duration.
      Thanks for asking.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I suspect that most people with a brain injury stuggle to overcome that gradual accumulation of sensory input (whether they realize it or not). I know I do – whether visual, aural, movement, too much information at once, or just talking to much (on my part–worse than one the other person does it. I can tune them out but my brain just keeps churning when I keep talking). The visual, spacial, sensorary and cognitive overload does us all in I think. For me, I don’t always realize in the moment or, if I do, then go on to something else that may be different kind of effort but nonetheless the cumulative effect is a black-out on reasoning, modulation, and retention. I find it really hard to keep myself in check when there are so many thing I want (or think need) to do. Sigh… is what it is and I keep working on successful management of these issues.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I worked with an OT for about 3 years to learn how to regulate an monitor my sensory input. I’m flabbergasted that it took me so long to grasp the various aspects of it. It’s part of the complexity of adjusting to living with a brain injury. Thanks for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment